» News

PATD Players Shine at PIAA State Tournament

May 30, 2013 06:06 PM
PATD Players Shine at PIAA State Tournament
Players from PIAA Districts 1 and 12 competed in the 2013 PIAA Boys Tennis Singles and Doubles Championships on May 24th and 25th at the Hershey Racquet Club. 
 In the AA division draw in singles and doubles, the District 1 and District 12 Champions squared off in the first round. In singles, Mitchell Harmatz from Lower Moreland beat Chris Mack from Parkway Northwest 6-1, 6-1. Harmatz then lost to eventual finalist Blaise Casselbury 6-2, 6-1. In doubles, Nate Fioravante and Brandon Fritze from Holy Ghoest defeated Tom Flamm and Pat Smith from Archbishop Carroll in the first round, but then lost to another doubles finalist from Scranton Prep.
 The AAA division proved a little more successful for the District with 3 out of 5 area teams advancing to the second round of doubles. District 12 Champions Peter DeWitt and RJ Napolitano from LaSalle College defeated District 1 finalists Josh Sutker/Eric Yen from Conestoga 6-4, 6-4 but then lost to the eventual finalists from Shady Side Academy. Dan Tornea and Thomas Christian from Abington also advanced to the second round in a 3 set battle from a team from State College High School. Finally John Lim and Derek Sommers stole the show. 
The District 1 Champions from West Chester Bayard Rustin High School had an easy first round match, and then won three straight 3-set matches to win the State Championship!! Lim and Sommers lost their first set in the final 0-6, but rebounded with a 6-2, 6-4 win in the final 2 sets. 
 In the singles draw, 4 out of 5 advanced to Round 2. Christian Lutschaunig- District 12 Champion from LaSalle defeated John Wu from Unionville in a 3-set match. And Mike Stanley from Council Rock North and Brian Grodeck from Conestoga each won their first round match as well. The District 1 Champion reigned supreme in Singles as well, with Mike Buxbaum from North Penn taking the title without losing a set. 
 Congratulations to Mike Buxbaum, John Lim and Derek Sommers for their outstanding finishes!